The Park pt. 1

I always wanted to fly; so that way when things got real bad I could just push open my windows, hop on the ledge, sprinkle on my fairy dust, think happy thoughts and fly off to Neverland with Peter Pan. But, this is reality and stuff like that never happens. I’d also have to have happy thoughts, and I can never think of none. I always pray that maybe Peter is out there, listening, and one day come whisk me away. ‘Cause I know somewhere fairy tales do come true, and I’ll get mine some day. Mama calls all my stories bottle dreams. She says I should put ’em in a bottle cause they ain’t never commin’ true. Maybe she’s right, but I still got hope.

“Evy, get your right side of a bottom down here before I pop it one good!”

“Uh oh.” I tried to figure out what I had done now to make Mama upset. But, most of the time I hadn’t done nothin’. She was just good and angry. I think it was ’cause Pop left her when she had me and Mary, that’s my twin. Now she’s just forever angry, but I dunno why, she met Donny. He took her in, even with two babies. Although, he’s awful angry too. I think their just mad at each other, ‘course didn’t stop ’em from having two kids.

I fumbled down the hall, going slow, to delay yellin’ as much as possible. It only takes about ten seconds to walk from our rooms to the main room, seein’  as our trailer’s ’bout as big as my two feet. There wasn’t much to delay. I approached the livin’ area, my mama was sittin’ on our couch eatin’ some chips and trying to tune into the one or two stations we could get on our little box of a TV.

“Evy where is Mary?” It wasn’t really a question. Mama didn’t ask questions. She just continued talking and you didn’t interrupt. “I haven’t seen her for hours. You need to get dinner cooked. Go and get her. If you aren’t back in five minutes, I’ll tan both your hides.” She didn’t look up from her television program. I walked away.

I was always getting the belt ’cause of Mary. She was a trouble maker. The trouble was, she always went out with out tellin’. Then I could never find her. I slipped on my sandals sittin’ by the door and went out to look for her.  Her and the other trailer kids was always startin’ trouble out in the fields behind our park. Unless you liked sittin’ out on your plastic chair in some dirt and starin’ at neighbors there wasn’t nothin’ to do in the park. They usually stole fruit or was lettin’ the chickens loose.

I heard laughter commin’ from the wheat field. It was followed by snorting and the sounds of pounding hooves. “Perfect,” I thought, “They let loose the cows.” Mr. Parker, the farmer who grew wheat out in the far field also had four dairy cows that he kept. They must have been chasing them back through the fields. I followed the noises till I saw Mary with Willie, Karen, Leesy and trailin behind her was little Donny Jr. “Mary! Come on Mama wants you home now to make supper. And, Little Donny is with you, come on you know better.”

“We were just havin’ some fun, I’m commin’.” She said goodbye to our friends as they continued chasing the cows into the other fields.

“Mary you know better. I don’t care if you wanna get the daylights knocked out of you by one of the cows, but Donny Jr. is only five. He could get seriously hurt.” I eyed Donny Jr. as he followed us back to the trailer.

“Sorry. I didn’t know he was with me.”

“Don’t tell Mama. Don’t tell her what you was doin’ either. She already skinned us once this week. Plus, if Pop comes home from the bar tonight angry, you know we’ll get it anyway.”

She looked at me with her eyes. The way we did sometimes, understanding each other without talking. As we approached our trailer the wind picked up and the clouds covered the sun.

“I hope there ain’t no tornado.” chimed in Donny Jr.

“Don’t you worry. It ain’t the season. It’s just God talkin’. If you listen carefully you can hear him whisper in your ears,” Mary reassured him.

Leave a Reply

